RBC Canadian Open Golf Tournament


RBC Canadian Open Golf Tournament

Organized by the Royal Canadian Golf Association, the Canadian Open is a professional golf tournament in Canada. It’s a historic golf tournament, which was started 114 years ago. Since then this tournament has been played every except a few years during the World War I and World War II when players did not participate.

The Canadian Open is only behind the ‘The Open Championship’ and ‘the U.S. Open’ as it’s the third oldest golf championship in the world. So, in this article, we are going to talk about this championship in brief. Let’s go forward and read about it.

An Overview of the tournament

RBC Canadian Open Golf TournamentSince this championship is a national open and the most accessible non-U.S. national open tournament, the Canadian Open is a special golf competition. It had an aura and status even before the professional tour system became famous in the golf arena. In fact, many golf legends and experts have labeled it as the third-most prestigious competition in the world. In 2000, Tiger Woods won the competition and became the first man to win the Triple Crown – The Canadian Open, The Open Championship and the U.S. Open in 29 years. Before him, only Lee Trevino won it all in 1971. It’s when the media took a back seat and the Canadian Open got huge recognition from the media.

However, the Canadian Open was not as celebrated as it is now. Due to the unfavorable scheduling of PGA tour, this competition was moved to an unwanted time in September in 1988. For this reason, many people didn’t consider this tournament a special one. Despite this obstacle, the Canadian Open remains a fixture to watch. The top three golfers on the PGA Tour Canada Order of Merit are offered an entry into the Canadian Open. Although Canadian Tour money list doesn’t take the prize money into an account.

Furthermore, the Canadian Open has a long and rich history of celebrated winners including Walter Hagen, Leo Diegel, Tommy Armour, Lawson Little, Harry Cooper, Craig Wood, Byron Nelson, Sam Snead, Bobby Locke, Doug Ford, Arnold Palmer, Kel Nagle, and many more. All these players have been inducted into the Hall of Fame Members of the competition. The most accomplished player who has never won this competition is Jack Nicklaus. He was a seven-time runner-up. On the other hand, Leo Diegel has won it four times, which is more than any other players in the history of the competition.

As we have said, the Canadian Open was held at an unfavorable time in September, things changed in the early 2000s. And in 2007, when the PGA tour was rescheduled to accommodate the FedEx Cup, this competition got a new lifeline. It was rescheduled for late July. From onwards, this competition never looked back again. If any player wins the tournament, it will count towards the FedEx Cup standings, earning a ‘Masters invitation.

The Golf Courses

RBC Canadian Open Golf TournamentThe Canadian Open Championship was hosted by many golf courses. However, from 1976, the Glen Abbey Golf course has been the permanent home for this tournament. This golf course was designed by Jack Nicklaus for the Royal Canadian Golf Association. During the mid-1990s, the RCGA wanted to move the championship around the country and this has been the norm today as well.Here are the some of the notable golf courses in which the tournament was hosted:

  1. Glen Abbey Golf Course
  2. Royal Montreal Golf Club
  3. Mississaugua Golf & Country Club
  4. Toronto Golf Club
  5. George’s Golf and Country Club
  6. Hamilton Golf and Country Club
  7. Lambton Golf Club
  8. Shaughnessy Golf & Country Club
  9. Scarboro Golf and Country Club

Bottom Line

The Canadian Open’s title has been renamed on several occasions. For example – the Canadian Open and Bell Canadian Open. Right now, the name is RBC Canadian Open. All in all, this tournament is one of the decorated golf tournament in the world, which many golfers aspire to win.