USMNT to push ‘Be the Change’ message in Qatar

DOHA, Qatar – United States Men’s National Team coach Greg Berhelter says FIFA will continue the team’s “Be the Change” message during its visit to Qatar. Migrant workers and the LGBTQIA+ community.

Those two issues have been prominent since the Persian Gulf nation won the World Cup in 2010. Same-sex relationships are against the law in Qatar and migrant workers, some of whom built the stadiums, are used in the stadiums. World Cup, he had to deal with very difficult working and living conditions.

– Marcotti: How FIFA can make a real difference to refugees in Qatar

A letter sent earlier this month by FIFA president Gianni Infantino and general secretary Fatima Zamora urged the 32 participating teams to “please let’s focus on football now!” And “don’t allow football to be dragged into any ideological or political war,” they pleaded. “

Qatar’s Emir, Emir Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani, weighed in on the World Cup host nation, condemning what he called an “unprecedented campaign” of “factories and double standards”.

But Berhelter said he and his teammates will continue to raise awareness on social issues.

Also Read :  PGA Tour 2K23 with three variants available

“I think when we’re on the world stage and [we’re in] Qatar, it is important to create awareness for these issues, and to be the change, “We want to focus on social issues not only from the side of the state, but also abroad.

“We recognize that Qatar has made progress and there is a lot of progress, but there is still some work to be done. And now, Be the Change basically represents the opportunity of every individual to make changes and initiate changes. So I think it is appropriate that we are here.”

The US crest is also modified with rainbow colors, although only in areas the US controls, such as the training facility.

Berhelter added that he had been talking to his team about social justice issues in Qatar “for the past 18 months.” The players are also on board.

American goalkeeper Sean Johnson.[Be the Change is] Something to be proud of in Qatar, and obviously we will continue to work to make an impact.”

On Tuesday, the team will participate in an event where they will train 20 refugees involved in the construction of competition infrastructure. The event aims to celebrate the contribution of the staff to the World Cup.

Also Read :  Qatar makes World Cup debut in a controversial tournament of firsts

The Be the Change program launched in November 2020, with the message emblazoned on the team’s warm jackets. It was done as a way to support the Black Lives Matter movement and social justice protesters across the US in the wake of the killing of George Floyd in May 2020.

The USMNT later used the phrase to support gun control measures put before the US Congress.

On the other hand, striker Christian Pulisic will wear number 10 for the United States in the World Cup, while goalkeeper Matt Turner will wear number 1.

The jersey numbers were announced Monday, a week before Team USA plays Al Ryan in Qatar against Wales in its first World Cup game since 2014. DeAndre Yedlin, the sole owner of the roster eight years ago, will wear No. 22. 2.

Twenty-two of the 26 players were in Qatar ahead of Monday’s training session, with Sergino Dest, Weston McKenney, Tim Wiha and Haji Wright playing with their European clubs in Sunday’s league games tomorrow.

Also Read :  World Cup 2022: Live stream, how to watch in 4K, schedule, start times, TV channel for Mexico, France

Previous No. 10s include Peter Vermes (1990), Roy Wegerl (1994), Tab Ramos (1998), Claudio Reyna (2002 and 2006), Landon Donovan (2010) and Mix Discerud (2014).

Turner follows Tony Meola, who wore No. 1 in 1990 and ’94, Brad Friedel in 1998 and 2002 and Tim Howard in 2006, ’10 and ’14.

Other jersey numbers: Walker Zimmerman No. 3, Tyler Adams No. 4, Antoine Robinson No. 5, Yunus Musah No. 6, Gio Reyna No. 7, McKenney No. 8, Jesus Ferreira No. 9, Brendon Aaronson No. 11, Ethan Horvat No. 12, Tim Ream No. 13, Luca De La Torre No. 14, Aaron Long No. 15, Jordan Morris No. 16, Cristian Roldan No. 17, Shaq Moore No. 18, Wright No. 19, Cameron Carter-Vickers No. 20; Weah No. 21, Kellyn Acosta No. 23, Josh Sargent No. 24, Sean Johnson No. 25 and Joe Skall No. 26.

Information from The Associated Press is included in this report.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button